08.22.03 August - 10:26 PM

heyheyheyhey!

Guess what I did tonight? Friday night no less! The best day of the week! The fun filled drunken mess of a night! The crazy do a dance, shoot some guns, roll a wheelburrow down the street with a six-pack, walk naked in the park, drop potatoes off a 78 story building, prank call grandma in a blurry haze sort of night!

I, uh, went to the grocery store.

woo.

You aren't the only one that sees that blaring neon 'L' glowing from my forehead right now. I actually started reading some of my past entries to see what I did a year ago tonight. One year ago tonight I had just moved to Denver and was making chili to the Strokes. Okay, so that's just a little 'l'. TWO years ago today however, was that crazy blue drink day with Hefe where I tried to walk home drunk but got lost because I didn't realize I was on an island.

A little quote from that fateful day:

"At this bar I play pool without being able to see the pool table. I also steal my friends beer swearing up and down to him that it's my own. I also have a problem wearing shoes."

i'm not growing up. i'm not growing up. i'm just tired today. and broke. and, uh, think i might be getting a cold. no really.

Actually, I have found that I really do have a problem wearing shoes when I've been drinking. Take last Sunday, which was Irishfest. Kevin, Beth (for a bit anyhow), and I drank all day. Walking back to the car at 11 o'clock at night down a major street, I insisted on taking off my shoes. I also decided to wade in the fountain in front of the Milwaukee Art Museum. That is, until Kevin saw that the security guard was coming to cut my fun short. I don't know what it is about shoes + drinking = drunken no shoes. It's just my thing. Like Bush being a street performing monkey. It's just his thing.

ANYHOW, Irishfest. The one thing that I remember most about Irishfest is how they finally opened up to diversity. Please, allow me to show you what I mean.

You may have recongized this image before. It's a stick figure in a wheelchair. This is a sad wheelchair stick figure. This poor stick figure wheelchair-er sits at home and wonders how life can be so cruel. The "Why Me?" thoughts, the "I just want to end this all now" chant, the "jaysus! leave me the hell alone! Wheel of Fortune is on!" stigma. The problem with this wheelchair stick figure is that it isn't a true representation of the stick figure wheelchair society as a whole. Which is why I'm proud to say that Irishfest finally got smart and came up with a more accurate portrayal (el?):

Meet ACTIVE wheelchair stick guy! This guy is a mover and shaker! A roller if you will! This guy cruises around taking on life by its balls. This stick figure wheelchair guy (hell! GIRL!) doesn't mind sending back food when it's not to her taste! This stick figure wheelchair-er runs over people's feet and doesn't even say sorry! HELL NO! They're ACTIVE! They're alive! They have fantastic arm muscles!

Of course when I pointed this out to Cindy, she thought that maybe they were just running to get away from the Giant Stick Figure Woman crapping on their head.

One last thing about Irishfest. If you go, and perhaps you're drinking, and somewhere between the Irish dancers and the long line for a stew soaked baked potato, you suddenly realize that you may have misplaced your boyfriend somewhere, I give you a helpful hint on where to look.

Though, if he's out of beer, it's anyone's guess.

Gee louise. I almost forgot to mention that my cousin was in town from Japan this past week. As always, it was great seeing her, though albeit not enough.

On a last final note, to assure you all that a mere stay at home save for grocery shopping Friday night has detered me from some of my more passion filled hobbies, let me insist that I haven't smacked my head on the wagon quite yet.

Nice to see you S.! I see Japan 2004!

Older Entries

Diaryland

Newest Entry

[email protected]