10.27.03 October - 9:20 AM

So it's Monday and I'm off of work.

Legally, I swear. Because I'm part time I convinced (Convinced? It was as easy as asking, "Mother may I?") the higher ups to let me work longer hours on some days and giving me the entire Monday Not-So-Fun day off. Which is good, because I hate Mondays.

Kevin asked me, "Why Mondays? Why not Fridays?" when I first told him of this new schedule. Well, I'll tell you.

Picture this if you will:

It's Friday. You have to work. You've worked the whole of the week and Jimmy Crickets Boy HOWDY are you grateful it's finally Friday. But it IS Friday. Although the day seems to go as slow as Easter dinner with your long lost relatives, none of whom find smoking remotely acceptable, you hanker on with the thought of two lovely days of leisure ahead of you. Hell, you're probably sending out illegal work emails to your friends at the moment making fun weekend plans.

Now picture it's Sunday. Maybe you pulled into the local pub at noon to catch the Packer game. Maybe you found a booth at Studio and a pretty blue drink to keep you company. Maybe you had one to many the night before and am making the couch your dear home. Maybe you're even raking the leaves. Regardless, there's something about Sunday and the two previous nights of staying up late and sleeping in and enjoying your free time that, well, Monday is complete and utter ruthless bitch.

I bet if you took a survey at most corporations you'd find that the majority of employees will seem to have contracted some sort of flucoldmy babysitter couldn't make itmy car's brokenmy aunt diedthe electricity and or water went outtoday's a Jewish holidaymy dog is limpingI'm stuck in Holland (I actually had to use that one once)and my all time favorite (thanks Hamby), "There's something seriously wrong with my eyes. I just can't see myself coming into work today" on Mondays. I'm just beating myself to the punch. I seriously can't afford to take off of work at all so why not make the day I'd usually call in a legal free day?

So, basically, while the rest of you are toiling away at your desks cursing your hangover, or cursing Saturday's hangover forcing you to waste an entire day on the couch, I am happily typing to you debating whether or not I should go see a movie (carbon monoxide anyone?) or go read a book at the local coffee shop. I'm sorry. I feel for you though. Unless of course you called in sickcat's sicktires on car got slashedlocked out of housestuck in France. Then hey! We should go get some coffee.

....TWO HOURS LATER....

Ok. I just spent the last hour typing up pretty much an entire entry about work. After I read it over I realized that what I was writing I could potentially be fired for so thought it best to get rid of it. I'm sorry. If I ever leave the company I'll give it to you. I just can't afford being unemployed again.

SO YEAH. Now that I wrote that whole thing out and then turn around and not post it, I'm tired. Maybe I'll go back to bed. Ha. Actually, now that I ended up not posting that whole thing, my brain is at a bit of a loss of what to tell you next. You know when you write, you get on a sort of track and even if you go off the track at least you have a station where it all sort of stemed from. Well, now that's gone and I'm left with...

...exactly.

I got nothing.

Many apologizes for leaving this...here. Though, I will end it with a little something I saw in Minnesota last week (I was up there for a business trip...yeah, can they PLEASE send me to a place that's even more fucking cold then WI?).

Five bucks to the person who comes up with the best caption for this photo. Enjoy.

Older Entries

Diaryland

Newest Entry

[email protected]